New Board and Officers

CAMPBELLTON, NB : The Restigouche Regional Service Commission held its first Board of Directors meeting with its new members on Thursday, February 2nd.

Following the recent implementation of the Municipal Reform, the Commission’s board of directors will subsequently be formed of ten (10) members, specifically two (2) representatives per community.

In addition to Solid Waste Management and Planning, the Commission is also mandated with new regional services, namely:

  • Economic development
  • Regional Tourism Promotion
  • Community Development & Regional transportation
  • Recreational Infrastructure Cost-Sharing
  • Public Safety Committee

The Election of officers took place during the meeting, and Mr. Brad Mann (Chair of the Restigouche Rural District Advisory Committee) was re-elected as President/Chairman of the Board of Directors, Mr. Jean-Guy Levesque (Mayor, Campbellton Regional Community) was elected as 1st Vice-President and Mr. Mario Pelletier (Mayor of the Village of Bois-Joli) as 2nd Vice-President.  Mr. Normand Pelletier (Mayor of Town of Heron Bay) was also elected as the Chair of the Finance Committee.

According to the President of the Board of Directors, Mr. Brad Mann

“We have a lot of work to do over the next year. In addition to our new services will also be focusing on the development of a regional strategy. »

From a regional collaboration point of view, the Commission, we will continue to deal with regional priorities such as healthcare services and winter maintenance of our highways.

In order from left to right on the photo, in the back : Mr. Steeve Savoie, Kedgwick Rural Community, Mr. Eric Gagnon, Mayor of Kedgwick Rural Community, Mr. Denis McIntyre, Town of Heron Bay, Ms. Mélanie Parent, Campbellton Regional Community, Ms. Loretta Smith, representative from Restigouche Rural District, Mr. Donald Savoie, Village of Bois-Joli. Front : Mr. Mario Pelletier, 2nd Vice-President and Mayor of Village of Bois-Joli, Mr. Brad Mann, Chairman and Chair of the Restigouche Rural District Advisory Committee, Mr. Jean-Guy Levesque, 1st Vice-President and Mayor of Campbellton Regional Community and Mr. Normand Pelletier, President of Finance Committee and Mayor of the Town of Heron Bay.